Skip to content
Contractor License Lookup

Montana contractor license lookup

It issues state licenses for general contractors, electrical contractors, plumbing contractors and roofing contractors. Our survey found no state-level license for HVAC contractors, so check with the city or county. Use the official lookup below to check a contractor. Information as of October 6, 2026.

Look up a license

TradeCredentialBoardOfficial lookup
General contractorState licenseMontana Department of Labor and Industry, Construction Contractor License (CCL) ProgramSearch general contractor licenses
ElectricalState licenseMontana State Electrical BoardSearch electrical licenses
PlumbingState licenseMontana Board of PlumbersSearch plumbing licenses
HVACNo state licenseCity or countyOur survey of official Montana sources found no state-level HVAC contractor license. Check with the city or county where the work is done.
RoofingState licenseMontana Department of Labor and Industry, Construction Contractor License (CCL) ProgramSearch roofing licenses

Verify a contractor

For homeowners hiring in Montana.

  1. Open the official Montana lookup run by CCL and search the contractor by name or number.
  2. Montana's Licensee Lookup System is the primary source for checking a contractor, electrician or plumber license, but some disciplinary actions may not be posted right away. source A free written license verification can be emailed or mailed if you have the license number. source Licensed electricians and plumbers working within their license do not also need the Construction Contractor License, so check their trade license instead. source Montana's DLI License Search lets anyone search Construction Contractor, electrical contractor and master plumber licenses by license number, name, business name or city, after answering a verification question. source
  3. Confirm the record is active and the class matches the job (Construction Contractor). The board's own record governs. A license is required for jobs above Construction Contractor License not required for a casual, minor or inconsequential job with an aggregate contract price under $2,500, unless the work is part of a larger operation or split up to evade the law. source
  4. Check the bond and insurance on the record against the state minimums: Applicant must show proof of compliance with workers' compensation laws; no general liability insurance minimum was found. source
  5. Complaints about unprofessional, incompetent or unlawful practice go to the Department of Labor and Industry through its online license complaint form. source

Homeowner protections in Montana

  • Hiring a contractor licensed on the contract date means you are not liable as an employer for that contractor's or its subcontractors' workers' compensation, unemployment insurance or wages. source
  • Jobs under $2,500 that are casual or minor may be done without a Construction Contractor License, but splitting a larger job to stay under that amount is not allowed. source
  • Unprofessional conduct for a licensed construction contractor includes misappropriating client funds and fraud in advertising, contracts or client communications. source

Get licensed

For a general contractor working in Montana.

  1. Apply to CCL as a Construction Contractor.
  2. Carry applicant must show proof of compliance with workers' compensation laws; no general liability insurance minimum was found. source
  3. Pay the construction Contractor License application fee of $70, non-refundable: $70. source
  4. Renews on the anniversary of the issuance date, with renewal opening 60 days before expiration; the official page does not state the term length in years. source

Other trades

Requirements by trade

General contractorSources checked October 6, 2026
ExamNot found on an official source. No exam requirement found for the Construction Contractor License; the application checklist lists only the application, fee and documentation, but no official statement says there is no exam.
ExperienceNot found on an official source. No experience requirement found for the Construction Contractor License on an official source.
BondNot found on an official source. No bond requirement found for the Construction Contractor License on an official source.
InsuranceApplicant must show proof of compliance with workers' compensation laws; no general liability insurance minimum was found. source
RenewalRenews on the anniversary of the issuance date, with renewal opening 60 days before expiration; the official page does not state the term length in year. source
ReciprocityNot found on an official source. No reciprocity provision found for the Construction Contractor License on an official source.
Fees
  • Construction Contractor License application fee of $70, non-refundable. source
  • Construction Contractor License renewal fee of $70. source
ElectricalSources checked October 6, 2026
ExamNo separate exam for the electrical contractor business itself; the designated responsible journeyman or master electrician must pass a board-approved PSI exam (based on the 2020 NEC). source
ExperienceMaster electrician (the responsible electrician for an unlimited contractor license) needs at least 8,000 hours of journeyman level experience; assumes the unlimited contractor license. source (checked June 7, 2024)
BondNot found on an official source. No bond requirement found for the electrical contractor license on an official source.
InsuranceElectrical contractor must show workers' compensation and unemployment insurance compliance, or an Independent Contractor Exemption; no liability insurance minimum was found. source
RenewalElectrician and electrical contractor licenses expire July 15 of even-numbered year. source
ReciprocityThe board may enter reciprocity agreements case by case with states whose requirements are substantially equivalent or greater; city or county licenses do not count. source (checked June 7, 2024)
Fees
  • Electrical contractor license application fee of $210. source
  • Electrical contractor renewal fee of $210 for two years (rule text in the board booklet dated June 2024; the board says 2026 renewal fees are abated 50%). source (checked June 7, 2024)
  • Application fee of $190 for a master, journeyman or residential electrician license by examination, including the original license fee. source (checked June 7, 2024)
PlumbingSources checked October 6, 2026
ExamMaster plumber must pass the board's master examination with a score of 70% or better. source
ExperienceMaster plumber needs 4 years as a licensed journeyman plumber, 3 of them (may run concurrently) with a master plumber or in a supervisory role; 1 year is 1,500 hours or more in 12 month. source
BondNot found on an official source. No bond requirement found for master plumbers on an official source.
InsuranceNot found on an official source. No insurance requirement found for master plumbers on an official source.
RenewalAll plumber licenses expire September 1 each year. source
ReciprocityNot found on an official source. No reciprocity provision found for plumber licenses on a readable official source.
Fees
  • Master plumber by examination application fee of $380. source
  • Temporary journeyman work permit for exam candidates, $100 in addition to the application fee. source
  • FY 2026 plumber license renewal fee abated by 100 percent (late fees still apply); the standard renewal fee was not found on a readable official source. source
RoofingSources checked October 6, 2026
ExamNot found on an official source. No exam requirement found for the Construction Contractor License; the application checklist lists only the application, fee and documentation, but no official statement says there is no exam.
ExperienceNot found on an official source. No experience requirement found for the Construction Contractor License on an official source.
BondNot found on an official source. No bond requirement found for the Construction Contractor License on an official source.
InsuranceApplicant must show proof of compliance with workers' compensation laws; no general liability insurance minimum was found. source
RenewalRenews on the anniversary of the issuance date, with renewal opening 60 days before expiration; the official page does not state the term length in year. source
ReciprocityNot found on an official source. No reciprocity provision found for the Construction Contractor License on an official source.
Fees
  • Construction Contractor License application fee of $70, non-refundable. source
  • Construction Contractor License renewal fee of $70. source

HVAC: Our survey of official Montana sources found no state-level HVAC contractor license. Check with the city or county where the work is done.

Questions

Does Montana require a contractor license?
Yes, in most cases Montana requires a state license for general contractors. Construction Contractor License not required for a casual, minor or inconsequential job with an aggregate contract price under $2,500, unless the work is part of a larger operation or split up to evade the law. The Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Construction Contractor License (CCL) Program issues it as the Construction Contractor credential.
How do I look up a contractor license in Montana?
The Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Construction Contractor License (CCL) Program keeps the record for general contractors in Montana. Use the official lookup linked in the Look up a license table, and treat the board's own record as final.
How do I look up an electrician license in Montana?
The Montana State Electrical Board keeps the record for electrical contractors in Montana.
How do I look up a plumbing license in Montana?
The Montana Board of Plumbers keeps the record for plumbing contractors in Montana.
Does Montana have an HVAC license?
Our survey of official Montana sources found no state-level HVAC contractor license. Check with the city or county where the work is done.
Do roofers need a license in Montana?
The Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Construction Contractor License (CCL) Program keeps the record for roofing contractors in Montana.

Sources

This is not a government site. The licensing board's own record governs; always confirm on the official lookup. Information as of October 6, 2026.